The Joshua 18 Districts and Map of Judah

This is a continuation from my previous post on how Joshua’s districts relate to 7th C BC Judah.

Joshua 18

21 Now the cities of the tribe of the sons of Benjamin according to their families were Jericho and Beth-hoglah and Emek-keziz, 22 and Beth-arabah and Zemaraim and Bethel, 23 and Avvim and Parah and Ophrah, 24 and Chephar-ammoni and Ophni and Geba; twelve cities with their villages. Zemaraim and Bethel’s locations  are known only approximately.

-Notice Beth-Aravah, a part of Judah’s Wilderness district, is included in this (“East Benjamin”) district. Apparently, this is due to the fact the tribal boundaries of Benjamin included Beth-Aravah.

25 Gibeon and Ramah and Beeroth, 26 and Mizpeh and Chephirah and Mozah, 27 and Rekem and Irpeel and Taralah, 28 and Zelah, Haeleph and the Jebusite (that is, Jerusalem), Gibeah, Kiriath; fourteen cities with their villages.

-Kiriath is Kiriath-Jeraim. Chephirah is just N. of Qatane.

And now the map (note that the Kiriath-Jeraim district is non-existent in reality, probably being a part of the Tekoa-Bethlehem district):

Author: pithom

An atheist with an interest in the history of the ancient Near East. Author of the Against Jebel al-Lawz Wordpress blog.

One thought on “The Joshua 18 Districts and Map of Judah”

Read the Comment Policy Before Commenting.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: