while reading George Grena’s remarks regarding this blog on his new post. The funniest parts:

  • December 13, 2011: Rehoboam’s Cities; anachronistic link to his May 2012 Map; “clearly” it does not date to 2011; it seems this post “dates from a combination of periods“; his orthography of “seperate” may help scholars determine when he actually composed it, though we can’t rule out a “Hasmonean interpolator“.
  • December 16, 2011: The Solomonic Districts; another “seperate” orthographic datum, separated by 3 days (or 3 possibly million or billion years if you’re not sure when a historical narrative refers to ordinary Earth-rotation periods).

(and, yes, I literally did laugh until tears came out of my eyes after reading that).

In any case, I am glad that he pointed out the numerous spelling errors this blog has accumulated over the months. I usually fix errors in posts without giving the future reader any hint of the previous existence of these errors as long as the errors are not serious enough as to affect the main ideas of the post. So I do with most of the errors Grena points out.

Below are some of George Grena’s comments (in italics) and my responses to them.

(ironically undated) Chronology; very thorough, yet thoroughly wrong beginning at “1,600,000 BC“, though kudos for “BC” instead of “BCE” since he’s not a Christian; at least we agree completely on the Mandate & State of Israel dates; links to LRW G2T, S2DR, & Rosette pages; also to my 1st BibleInterp article.

-I see nothing “thoroughly wrong” with a date of c. 1.6 mya for the human remains at the ‘Ubeidiya formation-Miriam Belmaker has written a thorough case that the fauna at the earliest human remain-bearing layers ‘Ubeidiya are consistent with a 1.6-1.2 mya date. I am fine with use of both BC and BCE; whichever is suitable for the context. I usually pick BC since it is shorter.

Almost? Labor-union isotopes threatened to strike?

-The ratio of C-12 to C-14 barely changed between c. 790 and c. 400 BC. However, it did change, so researchers can pick the most likely date(s) out of several available to them if they know the approximate historical context of the radiocarbon sample(s), as at Qudeirat and Beth-Shemesh.

curious phrase: “the possibility the fact“; spoken like a true evolutionist.

-The context of that group of words is  “In short, biblical testimony is far too great to consider the possibility the fact the last pottery in the building in the rock-cut pool is Iron IIA is anything but a coincidence.”-This was stated in defense of the statements in 2 Kings and 2 Chronicles that Hezekiah built Hezekiah’s Tunnel. Perhaps “the possibility that the fact” would be better wording. I don’t see what is so evolutionistic about a statement which defends a statement in the Bible!

woo-hoo! I’m famous!

-This blog only gets some 50 views per day, often fewer.

like as if an atheist would know what God deserves! Ha! Ha! Ha!

-One who is frequently exposed to religious practices might. However, I’m not one of them.

typo s/b S2DR

-I definitely had these two mixed up somewhere in my head.

if it would be Albrightian to “expect” certain evidence, isn’t it Aesopian to “wish” for it?

-I don’t understand the Aesop reference.

you might want to check with David Ussishkin before you toot that horn too loudly!

-I don’t think I need to. Too many at poorly fortified En Gedi and Ramat Rahel, not enough at well-fortified Gibeon and Mizpah.

not sure how/why incised circles would indicate wine age.

-They might have been stamped on jars filled with wine over several years old. However, due to the fact the concentric circle lmlk system seems to have died out during the 7th century BC, I do not think this is the most plausible explanation (though I still find it a plausible one).

if a Bethel bulla indicates Josiah, whose reign does a Bethel x4L indicate? Ditto for the SUKE bulla.

-If Isaiah 10 had mentioned Bethel, or if it was Hezekiah who was famed for destroying the Bethel cult (he certainly would have had no problem with doing so), I would be convinced a pre-Josianic date for the lmlk bullae is plausible. The Beitin lmlk handle has no more political implications than the several lmlk handles that have been found around the Jezreel Valley. My reference to the SUKE bulla was due to the ‘3rd year’ mention in it. I now think the fact an Ahaz bulla has been found may refute my prior assumption that widespread Judahite literacy only began after Hezekiah’s 6th year (when Sargon invaded Samaria, thus, spurring Judah to become the most powerful state in the region). Perhaps there was an earlier wave of Ephraimite refugees in 732 BC.

2 original maps showing multi-colored Pac-Men eating ancient Judah

-I never thought of that interpretation before!

Was it an “emergency” to indicate the age of wine on jars after Sennacherib left?

-No. It could have been useful. I still have not formulated a solid theory for the Concentric Circle Incisions’ purpose.

tersest blog post in the history of the world.

-It would have been a tweet had I any use for Twitter.

but there is a point in moving hundreds of them from Lachish to the central hill country, then back to Lachish, then to “other great lmlk-impression-centers“???

Considering Lachish is the largest city in the Shephelah and has yielded more lmlk impressions than Jerusalem, I don’t think this idea is overly unreasonable. MMST is the probable exception to my idea, the MMST jars being sent directly to Jerusalem (and possibly Tel Goded).

note that several thousand of those hits were probably from me & Michael Welch; the majority of the others are probably from people who mistyped “MLK” (Martin Luther King).

-About one tenth of the pageviews on my blog are my own. Yes, the lmlk seal impressions are a notoriously ignored subject (except in scholarly publications), there being not even a single YouTube video on the topic.

