Tags

,

Images taken from here and combined in Photoshop.

ashdodyamdarken2
ashdodyamoverlay
I do wish at least a part of the plan and history of the Assyrian citadel will be unearthed this year! See my thoughts on Ashdod in the 8th-7th century BC here. I think the Ashdod-Yam mentioned in the records of the Ashdod campaign of the Tartan of Sargon II is Tel Mor (31°49’23″N, 34°39’23″E), which, according to this encyclopedia, was fortified with a casemate wall in the 8th century BC. The Ashdod-Yam excavations may falsify or verify my hypothesis in the coming months or years. I believe that from the mid-7th century BC to the 580s campaigns of Nebuchadnezzar II, Ashdod-Yam was a city-state simply called “Ashdod”, actual Ashdod being abandoned from at least the 620s BC.

Fun fact: Just South of (200-400 m from) the Assyrian citadel of Ashdod-Yam lies a late 13th century BC port called Ashdod-Southern Shore.

