Speech starts at 35 minutes.

I rate it 7/8, only a bit worse than his Orlando speech, which I rate 8/8. Pretty good and inspiring, and hits obvious Clinton targets, with good use of rhetorical strategy to counter Hers (“I’m with YOU”). But the call for U.S. combat troops to have stayed in Iraq beyond 2011 just doesn’t sit well with me, especially when the Donald condemned the 2007 surge and called for a withdrawal when it was occurring. At least he now recognizes the surge’s success. Though I prefer combat troops being left in Iraq post-2011 to the present situation, I strongly favored (and still favor) the 2011 withdrawal, as long as the U.S. made sure that NATO would not support Turkey’s granting rebels safe havens in the Syrian war.

The support for Iran sanctions also doesn’t sit well with me, as well as his lies about Iran ever going to have a nuclear weapon. He also repeats his “real wages have fallen in past 18 years” lie, even though they have clearly risen, and risen strongly.

It was certainly bolder than any Clinton speech, though. Or Biden’s future one.

